Categories
Innovative treatments in toxicomania

February 2021

This month, Violaine unveils the results of her randomized clinical trial involving cocaine users. Her study involved 78 participants with moderate to severe cocaine use disorder who went into a 10-day detoxification period before being weekly followed for 3 months. Participants were randomly assigned to daily receive a large dose (800 mg) of cannabidiol (CBD) or placebo for 92 days. Her results demonstrated that compared to placebo, CBD was unfortunately not effective in reducing cocaine craving, the risk of relapse or cocaine use. CBD was, however, well tolerated by participants and associated mainly with mild side effects such as diarrhea. Together, her results encourage the development of new pharmacological compounds to treat cocaine use disorder.

Categories
Uncategorized

January 2021

According to the National Institute of Public Health of Quebec, between March and June 2020, overdose-related deaths were up 51% compared to the same period the year before. This is some of the disturbing data presented in a text by Quebec Science, for which Dr. Jutras-Aswad was interviewed, which exposes the ravages of the pandemic on people with concurrent disorders. As in all sectors of society, COVID-19 has altered professionals’ practices of working in the field of mental health, allowing spectacular advances in telemedicine and making patient follow-up more flexible. However, the sanitary crisis persists and its harmful effects, such as increased delays before treatment, are not about to be resolved. To read here.

Categories
Uncategorized

December 2020

As part of the reform of the Police Law, the Ministère de la Sécurité publique is currently conducting public hearings on police reality. Since many people with mental health and / or drug addiction seek police assistance when they are in crisis, police officers must adjust to their vulnerability. It is with enthusiasm that Dr. Jutras-Aswad shared his expertise in concurrent disorders during these hearings in order to better equip police officers. He particularly welcomes their innovative approaches such as mixed patrols including social workers (e.g. psychosocial emergency support team) and maintains that continuing education in mental health is crucial for the professional development of police officers in order to reflect the changing reality of the most vulnerable people. You can watch his presentation here or read our report by clicking this link.

Categories
Uncategorized

November 2020

Three people out of four with opioid use disorder will develop a depression during their lifetime. To know more about these co-occurring disorders, join us for a free lunch conference organized by the Institut Universitaire sur les Dépendances on December 1st, from noon to 1pm. During this webinar, the researcher Didier Jutras-Aswad and the social worker Jean-Nicolas Proulx will share the latest data from research simultaneously examining depression and opioid use disorder.

To register, please click here.


Categories
Uncategorized

October 2020

Combine the useful with the pleasant? This is what Dr Jutras-Aswad and the University of Montreal are offering by inviting you to an edition of film and conferences on drug addiction. At a cost of 5$, the film conferences allow you to watch a film related to a health theme, which is followed by a conference given by a qualified expert who demystifies the theme of the evening and provides tools practices based on key scenes from the film.

Beautiful Boy, inspired by the memoirs of journalist David Sheff and his son Nic, paints a heartbreaking portrait of a family’s unconditional love and commitment to their son’s grip on drugs and his healing attempts. Following Nic’s many relapses, the Sheff face the harsh reality of drug addiction that can strike at any time. A short introductory lecture on drug addiction and its collateral damage will precede the viewing of the film and then, at the end of the evening, Dr Jutras-Aswad will review the film and discuss with the audience. The activity will be held online from 6 p.m. to 10 p.m. on October 8th.

Categories
Uncategorized

September 2020

Two years after its legalization, cannabis still raises questions and discussions. Although the substance is consumed by a relatively large proportion of the population, the potential dangers it presents to mental health are concerning. Fortunately, more and more specialists are able to answer our questions as knowledge about cannabis grows.

On October 7th, from 5:30 p.m. to 6:30 p.m., Dr Didier Jutras-Aswad, director of the CHUM psychiatry department, Jean-Nicolas Proulx, social worker at the CHUM, and a patient partner will discuss mental health and cannabis during the new edition of HumaniSciences. The free activity does not require registration and will be held live on the CRCHUM Facebook page.

Categories
Uncategorized

August 2020

Since cannabis legalization in 2018, cannabinoid research has been booming. Cannabidiol (CBD) is attracting a great deal of interest as it is credited with countering the side effects of tetrahydrocannabinol (THC) such as anxiety or psychotic symptoms.

In an editorial published in the scientific journal Addiction, the doctoral candidate, Violaine Mongeau-Pérusse, and the head of our laboratory, Didier Jutras-Aswad, warn against the hasty conclusions drawn from studies supporting the protective effects of CBD.

This is because observational studies conducted do not have the same value as randomized trials and the few trials performed have produced mixed and inconsistent results. In addition, the products tested so far are very different from those found on the market. Before we can comment on the properties of CBD, it is necessary to conduct more robust clinical studies with cannabis products that are the same as those in the recreational market.

Categories
Uncategorized

May 2020

Injection drug users are at risk of blood-borne infections like the hepatitis C virus (HCV). To reduce these harms, the distribution of sterile injection equipment and access to substitution treatments (e.g. opioid agonist therapy or OAT) remain central to preventing transmission of these diseases. But how efficacious are these strategies? A new study based on a cohort of 422 Montreal drug users reveals that a high dose of OAT (>=60mg/day methadone or >=16mg/day buprenorphine) is associated with a 77% risk reduction of HCV infection. A light dose of OAT or access to sterile injection equipment did not show significant risk reductions of HCV infection. This study is helping clinicians to better choose the appropriate dose of OAT to prevent infections in patients with drug use disorder. You can read the article published in the American Journal of Preventive Medicine here.

Categories
Uncategorized

April 2020

During this period of confinement when electronic devices become essential tools, many health care workers provide care using these technologies, which motivates an investment of $ 240M from the federal government. In drug addiction, this care includes psychological interventions aimed at reducing the consumption of drugs such as cannabis. Ovidiu and Gabriel looked at these interventions offered to patients with psychotic disorders in whom the use of marijuana increases symptoms and length of hospital stay in addition to harming recovery. Their systematic review published in Psychiatry Research has shown that research in this area is still in its infancy. However, in non-psychotic individuals, the technology-based psychotherapeutic interventions were effective in reducing cannabis consumption. Their application in psychotic patients would therefore help increase access to care without significantly increasing healthcare costs. To consult the study, click here.

Catégories
Non classifié(e)

Janvier 2021

Selon des données de l’Institut national de santé publique du Québec, entre les mois de mars et juin 2020, les décès liés à une surdose ont augmenté de 51 % par rapport à la même période l’année précédente. C’est l’une des données troublantes présentées dans un texte de Québec Science, pour lequel le Dr Jutras-Aswad a été interviewé, qui expose les ravages de la pandémie sur les gens souffrant de troubles concomitants. Comme pour tous les secteurs de la société, la COVID-19 a chamboulé les pratiques des professionnels œuvrant dans le domaine de la santé mentale, permettant des avancées spectaculaires en télémédecine et assouplissant les suivis des patients. Néanmoins, la crise sanitaire persiste et ses effets néfastes comme l’augmentation des délais de prise en charge ne sont pas près d’être solutionnés. À lire ici.

Catégories
Non classifié(e)

Décembre 2020

Dans le cadre de la réforme de la Loi sur la police, le Ministère de la Sécurité publique mène actuellement des audiences publiques sur la réalité policière. Comme plusieurs personnes avec des troubles mentaux et/ou toxicomanies demandent l’aide des policiers lorsqu’elles sont en crise, les policiers doivent s’ajuster à leur vulnérabilité. C’est avec enthousiasme que Dr Jutras-Aswad a partagé son expertise en troubles concomitants lors de ces audiences afin de mieux outiller les policiers. Il salue notamment leurs approches innovantes comme les patrouilles mixtes incluant des travailleurs sociaux (ex : équipe de soutien aux urgences psychosociales) et soutient que la formation continue en santé mentale est cruciale pour le développement professionnel des policiers afin de refléter l’évolution de la réalité des plus vulnérables. Vous pouvez visionner son intervention ici ou encore lire notre rapport en suivant ce lien.

Catégories
Non classifié(e)

Novembre 2020

Trois personnes sur quatre ayant un trouble lié à l’usage des opioïdes développeront une dépression au cours de leur vie. Pour en savoir plus sur ces troubles concomitants et les plus récentes recherches dans le domaine, venez assister à la midi-conférence gratuite organisée par l’Institut Universitaire sur les Dépendances le 1er décembre prochain de midi à 13h. Lors de ce webinaire, le chercheur Didier Jutras-Aswad et le travailleur social Jean-Nicolas Proulx partageront les données des études les plus récentes qui se penchent simultanément sur la dépression et le trouble d’usage des opioïdes.

Pour vous inscrire, cliquez ici.


Catégories
Non classifié(e)

Octobre 2020

Joindre l’utile à l’agréable? C’est ce que vous propose le Dr Jutras-Aswad et l’Université de Montréal en vous conviant à une édition des cinés-conférences portant sur la toxicomanie. Au coût de 5$, les cinés-conférences vous permettent de visionner un film en lien avec un thème de la santé, visionnement qui est suivi d’une conférence que prononce un expert diplômé qui démystifie le thème de la soirée et donne des outils pratiques en s’appuyant sur des scènes clés du film.

Un Garçon magnifique, inspiré des mémoires du journaliste David Sheff et de son fils Nic, dresse un portrait bouleversant de l’amour inconditionnel et de l’engagement d’une famille face à l’emprise qu’ont les drogues sur leur fils ainsi qu’à ses tentatives de guérison. Suite aux nombreuses rechutes de Nic, les Sheff sont confrontés à la dure réalité de la toxicomanie, une dépendance qui peut frapper à tout moment. Une courte conférence d’introduction à propos de la toxicomanie et ses dommages collatéraux précédera le visionnement du film puis, au terme de la soirée, Dr Jutras-Aswad reviendra sur le film et échangera avec le public. L’activité se tiendra en ligne de 18h à 22h le 8 octobre prochain.

Catégories
Non classifié(e)

Septembre 2020

Deux ans après sa légalisation, le cannabis suscite toujours interrogations et discussions. Bien qu’il s’agisse d’une substance consommée par une proportion relativement importante de la population, les dangers potentiels qu’elle présente sur le plan de la santé mentale inquiètent. Heureusement, de plus en plus, les spécialistes sont en mesure de répondre à nos questions alors que les connaissances à propos du cannabis se développent.

Le 7 octobre prochain, de 17h30 à 18h30, le Dr Didier Jutras-Aswad, directeur du département de psychiatrie du CHUM, Jean-Nicolas Proulx, travailleur social au CHUM, et un patient partenaire discuteront de santé mentale et de cannabis dans le cadre d’une nouvelle édition des soirées HumaniSciences. L’activité gratuite ne nécessite pas d’inscription et se tiendra en direct sur la page facebook du CRCHUM.

Catégories
Non classifié(e)

Août 2020

Depuis la légalisation en 2018, la recherche sur le cannabis est en plein essor. Le cannabidiol (CBD) suscite beaucoup d’intérêt puisqu’on lui prête la propriété de contrer les effets indésirables du tétrahydrocannabinol (THC) tels l’anxiété ou les symptômes psychotiques.

Dans un éditorial paru dans la revue scientifique Addiction, la candidate au doctorat, Violaine Mongeau-Pérusse, et le responsable de notre laboratoire, Didier Jutras-Aswad, mettent en garde contre les conclusions hâtives tirées des études supportant les effets protecteurs du CBD.

En effet, les études observationnelles menées n’ont pas la même valeur que les essais randomisés et les quelques essais effectués ont produit des résultats mixtes dépourvus de cohérence. De plus, les produits testés jusqu’à maintenant sont très différents de ceux que l’on retrouve sur le marché. Avant de pouvoir se prononcer sur les propriétés du CBD, il est nécessaire de mener des études cliniques plus robustes avec des produits du cannabis qui sont les mêmes que ceux du marché récréatif.

Catégories
Non classifié(e)

Mai 2020

Les usagers de drogues injectables sont à risque d’infections transmises par le sang comme le virus de l’hépatite C (VHC). Pour réduire ces méfaits, la distribution de matériel d’injection stérile et l’accès à des traitements de substitution (ex : thérapie par agoniste des opioïdes ou TAO) demeurent centraux dans la prévention de la transmission de ces maladies. Mais quelle est leur efficacité? Une nouvelle étude basée sur une cohorte de 422 usagers de drogues montréalais révèle qu’une forte dose de TAO (>=60 mg/jour méthadone ou >=16 mg/jour buprenorphine) est associée à une réduction de 77% du risque d’infection au VHC. Une dose légère de TAO ou l’accès à du matériel d’injection stérile ne montraient pas de diminutions significatives des risques d’infection. Cette étude vient aider les cliniciens à mieux choisir la dose appropriée de traitement TAO afin de prévenir les infections chez les patients avec trouble d’usage de drogues. Vous pouvez lire l’article paru dans American Journal of Preventive Medicine en cliquant ici.

Catégories
Non classifié(e)

Avril 2020

Durant cette période de confinement où les appareils électroniques deviennent des outils essentiels, plusieurs travailleurs de la santé prodiguent des soins grâce à ces technologies ce qui motive un investissement de 240$M du gouvernement fédéral. En toxicomanie, ces soins incluent des interventions psychologiques visant la réduction de consommation de drogues comme le cannabis. Ovidiu et Gabriel se sont penchés sur ces interventions offertes aux patients avec des troubles psychotiques chez qui la consommation de marijuana augmente les symptômes et la durée d’hospitalisation en plus de nuire au rétablissement. Leur revue systématique publiée dans Psychiatry Research a démontré que la recherche dans ce domaine en est encore à ses balbutiements. Pourtant, chez les individus non psychotiques, les interventions psychothérapeutiques basées sur la technologie ont prouvé leur efficacité à réduire la consommation de cannabis. Leur application chez les patients psychotiques aiderait donc à augmenter l’accès aux soins sans augmenter significativement les frais de santé. Pour consulter l’étude, cliquez ici.